RSSA Training

Program Reviews & Ratings

Module I: Social Security Basics

Were the stated learning objectives met?
  • 4.6
Were the stated prerequisite requirements appropriate and sufficient?
  • 4.6
Were program materials relevant and did they contribute to the achievement of the learning objectives?
  • 4.6
Was the time allotted to the learning activity adequate?
  • 4.6
Were the audio and video materials effective?
  • 4.0

Participant Reviews

Posted by Maria F. | Caguas, PR | June 22, 2021
The information in very actually. Is more information but is necessary for study this certification.
Posted by Joyce A. | Richmond, TX | June 7, 2021
LEARN ALOT STUDY HARD TO BECOME A RSSA
Posted by Patricia M. | Delphos, OH | June 4, 2021
This course is well written with effective examples which promote learning.
Posted by Leo T. | Conroe, TX | May 20, 2021
Learning friendly
Posted by Mary D. | Colorado Springs, CO | April 26, 2021
On page 8 of 11 on Chapter 4, I'm wondering if the last bullet should read is an additional $1,221 per month of survivor income instead of per year?
Posted by James G. | Roanoke, VA | January 5, 2021
made you mind and work out problems.
Posted by Elba J. | Hialeah, FL | December 6, 2020
I am very grateful for this training, for it has been just in time, and I want to help many people, we need it. Gracias
Posted by David L. | Memphis, TN | October 18, 2020
I am very impressed with the information in mo 1
Posted by Jeffrey G. | Newbury Park, CA | October 2, 2020
The examples were useful but I wish there had been one on the calculation of QC's
Posted by Caitlin W. | Palo Alto, CA | September 10, 2020
very good course
Posted by Rose M. | Exton, PA | June 29, 2020
Very well done - learned a lot.
Posted by Armando S. | Orlando, FL | June 18, 2020
Excellent
Posted by Reba S. | Jonesboro, AR | June 2, 2020
I enjoyed this module.
Posted by Michael F. | Reading, MA | April 26, 2020
Excellent info
Posted by Arlen R. | Longwood, FL | April 2, 2020
I have to do the test several times, because the system doesn't save the answers
Posted by Denise B. | Luling, TX | March 4, 2020
I believe this is a good solid module to educate those of us who understand some things about Social Security benefits, but need to be able to categorize and understand in a way that facilitates researching the specific questions our clients have.
Posted by Ira N. | Eastlake, OH | January 7, 2020
The module exam is completely ridiculous. There is no reason for tricky or ambiguous questions. I know the answers and don't know which answer is correct. That is just absurd!!
Posted by Carmen L. | Earlimart, CA | January 4, 2020
I LEARNED SO MUCH OF THE PROCESS OF SSA WHICH WILL BE VERY HELPFUL AND I WILL ALWAYS LOOK BACK AND REVIEW THESE HELP REQUIREMENTS THAT WILL HELP ME ASSIST THOSE WHOM ARE LOOKING AT RETIRING.
Posted by Carl L. | San Luis Obispo, CA | January 1, 2020
It would be nice to be able to download all chapters of a module (and all modules) at the same time so i can work off line to review the materials. Otherwise I need to be online as the time needed to complete a single chapter is not sufficient to log on each time I am ready to take review test.
Posted by James S. | Knoxville, TN | December 10, 2019
Some repetition of key points in the questions was actually helpful.
Posted by Juana M. | Canton, MI | November 10, 2019
I love the ability to self run and educate through this program.
Posted by Lynda K. | Mentor, OH | August 23, 2019
Very Informative and eye opening
Posted by Roger R. | Burton, MI | August 14, 2019
the last 4 questions were in red. the computer screen only recorded 36 even thou I answered
Posted by Kathleen A. | Greensburg, PA | July 31, 2019
Very useful material. I learned a lot.
Posted by Rebecca T. | Odessa, TX | June 26, 2019
very helpful info
Posted by Erlyn D. | Kissimmee, FL | June 24, 2019
Great Modules.
Posted by William R. | Melbourne, FL | June 19, 2019
Great Course
Posted by Michiko M. | Honolulu, HI | June 17, 2019
The material is great ! Easy to follow with the excellent examples
Posted by Bernard E. | Colerain, NC | January 13, 2019
I really enjoyed the course thus far. I plan to go back and review to learn all I can from this material. Exciting. Looking forward to the remaining part of this course.
Posted by Sharon K. | Lady Lake, FL | September 14, 2018
Material is very clear.
Posted by Cherise M. | Baltimore, MD | September 10, 2018
There were no instructors, it was self led.
Posted by Lisa B. | Fayetteville, GA | February 19, 2020
The calculation of PIA did have enough practice problems.
Posted by Raymond W. | Chicora, PA | December 19, 2019
Some of the test questions could have been more clear. For example FRA seemed to be needed to figure out several of the calculations. Saying someone is receiving benefits doesn't tell us when the benefits started or how long they have been receiving them. Overall good course module though.
Posted by Yansi Z. | Warrenton, VA | November 6, 2019
I am learning a lot of objectives in this curse Thank you
Posted by David B. | Magna, UT | August 27, 2019
A couple of the questions didn't seem to have an answer in the printed material.
Posted by Angelia H. | Winston, GA | July 26, 2019
I cannot download the content into a pdf on my iPad. I always have to download on my PC then print the info out and put it into a binder for studying and using as my open book test materials. Which is certainly doing the job. But I wish I could at least send the next chapter to the printer from my pad. Not a big deal, just thought I’d share.
Posted by Melanie B. | Ashland, OH | May 13, 2019
Find interesting that teaching isn't interactive and only written materials.
Posted by Kathleen W. | Hurst, TX | January 11, 2019
Great info!
Posted by David F. | Downey, CA | October 3, 2018
Course taken on line. No instructors
Posted by Jacqueline W. | Sarasota, FL | October 2, 2018
Some of the materials could have been explained a little more in detail or simpler. It would be great if this were a classroom setting where there was an instructor to ask for clarification. But in an online setting sometimes things have to be "dumbed down" a little.
Posted by Amber M. | Valparaiso, IN | September 26, 2018
Your survey is flawed as multiple options should have the Not Applicable option. Your results will be skewed.
Posted by Jane T. | Mullin, TX | September 24, 2018
No individual instructors
Posted by Jerome P. | Washington, PA | September 9, 2018
I would suggest having one chapter of auto to summarize what was learned in the module from the instructors point of view. Something like 10 minutes or so.
Posted by Beth P. | Chattanooga, TN | September 5, 2018
FICA is defined as both the Social Security and Medicare tax combined. In questions regarding FICA, however, the "correct" answer only considers the 6.2% of Social Security. In addition, there are a number of places in Module 1 where the 2017 numbers have not been replaced with the 2018 numbers. There is also contradiction in the conditional joint probability of 65 year olds living to 90/92.
Posted by Matthew K. | New York, NY | August 18, 2018
Good knowledge foundation to build on!
Posted by Barbra S. | Granite Falls, MN | May 29, 2021
a couple more calculations problems would be nice
Posted by Kathryn B. | Charlotte, NC | February 23, 2020
could use more examples for the math and how numbers were calculated in the examples
Posted by Deborah Z. | Hicksville, OH | December 28, 2019
Several of the questions I absolutely cannot find anything mentioned in any of the chapters about! Obviously it is important enough to ask the questions so it would follow that information should be in the material and it absolutely without a doubt is not. BAD synchronization of test to material covered.
Posted by Sandra F. | Reading, PA | November 11, 2019
There are a number of typos in the material but otherwise the material is well drafted, informative and interesting.
Posted by Carl D. | Hendersonville, TN | November 9, 2019
Given today's technology, a more integrated set of materials with an index and search capabilities would be nice.
Posted by Marisela C. | Long Beach, CA | September 22, 2019
I'm glad that it is open book and not timed. Thank you
Posted by Robert H. | Lawton, OK | May 8, 2019
NEED MORE EXAMPLE AND/OR PRACTICE CALCULATIONS OF PIA, AMME, AND OTHER PROBLEMS AS SHOWN IN CHAPTER 2, MOD 1
Posted by Ellen O. | Bedford, TX | April 20, 2019
Very interesting stuff! I am learning much! Thank you!
Posted by Helen L. | Los Angeles, CA | October 21, 2018
Too much emphasis on dates.
Posted by Georges S. | Temecula, CA | November 23, 2018
course was done on line
Posted by Kimberly F. | Tampa, FL | March 31, 2021
The information required to answer some of the questions required a greater knowledge than was included in the chapters.
Posted by William M. | Winchester, KY | November 8, 2020
I really struggled with PIA and how to calculate it. Much of the rest was, if not easy, certainly understandable.
Posted by Gregory W. | Renton, WA | September 5, 2020
these materials are very well done.
Posted by Diana D. | Biggar, CA | October 17, 2019
Several exam questions were the same - doesn't seem practical.
Posted by Cindy J. | Smyrna, GA | June 3, 2021
The calculation of benefits was a little confusing
Posted by Britt P. | Boulder, CO | August 13, 2019
Several test questions not actually covered in material. Able to make educated guesses but I feel that comprehensive materials are best.
Posted by Debbie G. | Orange, CA | July 29, 2019
Though there are several topics in the history section commenting on the taxation of SS and when it began, I cannot find in the book where it says how much was initially taxed. So I assumed 50%.
Posted by Christina C. | Santa Clara, CA | April 13, 2019
There's some errors in the contents and sometimes the statements are very confusing.
Posted by John M. | Louisville, KY | September 7, 2018
Enjoyed learning experience of first section of course.
Posted by Stella P. | Shreveport, LA | September 18, 2019
More examples would be helpful, especially on the calculations.
Posted by Debra S. | Vacaville, CA | September 5, 2019
Very vague on some questions
Posted by Robert F. | Lakeland, MN | October 5, 2018
Ultimately these questions could be answered more meaningfully once one sees the test results.
Posted by Maureen L. | Scottsdale, AZ | September 17, 2018
Some of the questions were confusing.
Posted by Tina H. | Darien, WI | June 23, 2021
Didn't realize going into this that I would have to read everything - thought it would be a webinar with a speaker
Posted by James B. | Arvada, CO | November 12, 2019
Auto save claimed for the exam does not work
Posted by Cynthia H. | Colorado Springs, CO | September 19, 2019
Some items were confusing and not well explained. Too short.
Posted by Rose D. | Saint Paul, MN | May 23, 2021
It should come with a printed workbook so the tests would be easier to take.

Module II: Social Security Advanced Topics

Were the stated learning objectives met?
  • 4.6
Were the stated prerequisite requirements appropriate and sufficient?
  • 4.5
Were program materials relevant and did they contribute to the achievement of the learning objectives?
  • 4.6
Was the time allotted to the learning activity adequate?
  • 4.6
Were the audio and video materials effective?
  • 4.1

Participant Reviews

Posted by Deborah S. | Beaumont, CA | May 23, 2021
Excellent Module
Posted by Brenda E. | Tacoma, WA | September 15, 2020
Very interesting module.
Posted by Ira N. | Eastlake, OH | September 1, 2020
The final exam contains too many ambiguous or tricky questions. You've lost me as a client.
Posted by Deborah Z. | Hicksville, OH | December 29, 2019
MODULE 2 WAS BETTER DONE THAN MODULE 1. AND THE ANSWERS TO SOME OF THE QUESTIONS ON THE MODULE 1 TEST ARE IN MODULE 2! NO WONDER I COULD NOT FIND THAT INFORMATION WHEN I TOOK THE MODULE 1 TEST BECAUSE IT HAD NEVER BEEN COVERED YET! HOW UNFAIR IS THAT FOR A TEST!?!? WOW WOW WOW VERY BAD!
Posted by Olha M. | Lincolnshire, IL | December 21, 2019
i wish there were more practical calculations
Posted by Raymond W. | Chicora, PA | December 20, 2019
Some test questions were not clear enough
Posted by Marisela C. | Long Beach, CA | September 23, 2019
Great material
Posted by Bernice S. | Long Branch, NJ | August 17, 2019
This course is what I had hoped for and more.
Posted by Kathleen A. | Greensburg, PA | August 13, 2019
Great content!
Posted by Bernard E. | Colerain, NC | February 25, 2019
Great Information. Enjoying the course.
Posted by Gregory A. | Collierville, TN | February 8, 2019
After taking the exam, why don't you provide which questions were answered incorrectly??
Posted by Cherise M. | Baltimore, MD | September 25, 2018
This was all self study
Posted by Patricia O. | Dana Point, CA | September 23, 2018
Having these evaluations is really aggravating. Totally unnecessary.
Posted by Beth P. | Chattanooga, TN | September 6, 2018
As in Module 1, FICA is being misrepresented as only the Social Security tax of 6.2% when it was defined as both Social Security and Medicare taxes - a total of 7.65%.
Posted by John S. | Costa Mesa, CA | June 2, 2021
Asking individual dates for legislation is poor technique. Does it matter on what exact date a law is signed if you know what provisions are.
Posted by Richard S. | Rancho Cucamonga, CA | October 2, 2020
More interactive material would help the information sink in for some.
Posted by Evans G. | Saint Paul, MN | September 29, 2019
need more examples with computations
Posted by Tazeen H. | Cedar Park, TX | October 18, 2018
exam was great practice of material. However, once a candidate passes, it would be useful to know correct answer to the ones wrong to correct understanding while still doing course and before certification exam.
Posted by Britt P. | Boulder, CO | August 14, 2019
It would be great if you could print all modules at once versus each time. I could have read/studied all modules and would have been more efficient as I wasn't able to be at my computer and now it is later at night. Plus a cocktail ;)
Posted by Shirley S. | Stanwood, WA | June 19, 2019
Some of the questions are confusing - and it would be nice to find out which of the final exam questions were missed as a good learning tool.
Posted by Terry M. | Springfield, MO | May 15, 2019
the test does not save your answers. Time me out and lost all but the first answer. not happy with you program
Posted by Ellen O. | Bedford, TX | April 27, 2019
At times, I think I understand the lesson. But I re-read and learn that I didn't learn it correctly. It pays to cover the materials multiple times.
Posted by John M. | Louisville, KY | September 15, 2018
More material explaining problems would be helpful. Over, a very good and informative course on topic.
Posted by William M. | Winchester, KY | November 11, 2020
This is a helpful and instructive program. I'm learning a great deal.
Posted by Virginia S. | Dallas, GA | October 10, 2019
This was a tough module. Lots of calculations. I would suggest a revision of the course materials to make comparisons easier to understand.
Posted by Debbie G. | Orange, CA | August 9, 2019
Some text is not worded well, and must be reread to better understand.
Posted by Denise B. | Luling, TX | November 17, 2020
I like to educate myself, but I found the presentation of this information to be boring. Sorry.
Posted by Rex W. | Sumas, WA | November 22, 2018
After the exam is graded, It would be helpful to see all of the correct answers
Posted by Ann R. | Knoxville, IA | November 15, 2018
The incorrect answers need to be shown, this will show were weakness is and were work need done
Posted by Brenda A. | Imperial, MO | April 17, 2021
I think repetitiveness is the key to success. I believe that the acronyms used in the verbage of these documents should also spell out the words; so as to get each student used to the whole word and acronym so that when seeing it, they can have better recall.
Posted by Gregory W. | Renton, WA | September 7, 2020
Really outstanding materials
Posted by Harold A. | Washington, DC | August 24, 2020
Some of test questions weren't clear.
Posted by Diana D. | Biggar, CA | October 19, 2019
Excellent notes in the chapter - frustrated with exam as so many similar questions and lots of material totally ignored.
Posted by Donald M. | Philadelphia, PA | August 1, 2019
To better learn the material, for those questions answered incorrectly, it would be helpful to show the correct answer.
Posted by Timothy M. | La Mirada, CA | May 8, 2019
I’d like to find all exam questions to be answered in the course reading and material.
Posted by Stella P. | Shreveport, LA | September 27, 2019
Some of the review questions were worded poorly. You had to assume a mentioned pension was a non-covered pension in one question. In Module 1 exam the question regarding the amount of benefits withheld in the year a person earned over the threshold amount before FRA was worded incorrectly. The amount is withheld the following year, not in the year the earnings are over the threshold. The correct answer was actually the amount withheld, not the amount withheld in the current year.
Posted by Rose D. | Saint Paul, MN | May 26, 2021
Better examples on the convuluted formulas would be better.

Module III: Bridging to Retirement Planning

Were the stated learning objectives met?
  • 4.6
Were the stated prerequisite requirements appropriate and sufficient?
  • 4.6
Were program materials relevant and did they contribute to the achievement of the learning objectives?
  • 4.6
Was the time allotted to the learning activity adequate?
  • 4.6
Were the audio and video materials effective?
  • 4.2

Participant Reviews

Posted by Barbra S. | Granite Falls, MN | June 11, 2021
With this chapter I discovered having a printed copy of the course was very helpful
Posted by Deborah S. | Beaumont, CA | May 25, 2021
Case studies were extremely helpful
Posted by Bernard M. | Worcester, MA | November 25, 2020
Excellent review
Posted by Jerilea P. | Sheridan, WY | October 27, 2020
The course is a great course! The resource materials will be useful to look back on. However, I feel like some of the test questions were ambiguous, which is always disappointing.
Posted by Brenda E. | Tacoma, WA | September 17, 2020
Module a bit more confusing than prior ones.
Posted by Ryan J. | Camas, WA | December 20, 2019
Some of the test question answers were not correct in the prior module. Which of the following statements is correct about RMDs. The answer says that you can aggregate for defined contribution retirement plans. This is not correct. See the link https://www.irs.gov/retirement-plans/rmd-comparison-chart-iras-vs-defined-contribution-plans. Also a question about married couple combined income of $75,000 how much SS may be taxed. We know that their SS benefits are not $6,250 each per month. Today existing maximum SS benefits plus max DRC and COLAs would not produce that. So we know that some of that combined income is from other sources. If only $1 is from another source their combined income is $75,000 and since that falls above the $44,000 threshold for a married couple up to 85% of their SS may be taxed. We do have enough information, given we know about SS, historical maximum PIAs, delayed retirement credits, and historical COLAs we know they have other income in the combined income total.
Posted by Evans G. | Saint Paul, MN | September 30, 2019
recommend more examples or scenarios, thanks
Posted by Perry M. | Albertville, AL | July 19, 2019
excellent in all respects.
Posted by Frances T. | Amarillo, TX | July 6, 2019
It would be very beneficial to have an explanation of questions missed so that the student could gain a better understanding.
Posted by Margaret W. | Brandon, MS | June 1, 2019
the questions bounced back between couples and I would have preferred all questions be organized by case study
Posted by Donald H. | Dallas, TX | May 29, 2019
On question 10, aren't B and C the same? Not sure if I got question 37 correct, but I think at age 69 they would get 3 years of the 8% increase in benefits - doesn't that calculate to $4,216? ($3,400 *(1 +(3*.08))) I answered C since it was closest.
Posted by Ellen O. | Bedford, TX | May 1, 2019
No reflection on your course but why do I understand things while studying but when the test comes, the info leaves my brain. Test anxiety perhaps? LOL.
Posted by Bernard E. | Colerain, NC | March 10, 2019
Great Course. Very informative. Learning so much about social security that I did not know before.
Posted by Richard S. | Rancho Cucamonga, CA | November 16, 2020
The scenario cases definitely assist in understanding the program rules and guidelines.
Posted by Beth P. | Chattanooga, TN | September 6, 2018
This module needs to be proof read. It contains many errors. Rental income should not be considered a reliable source of income in retirement. The expenses are too varied and rents are not stable due to variations in vacancies.
Posted by Pamela M. | Kissimmee, FL | January 15, 2019
I think it would help if the entire module could be printed and studied before taking any quizzes or exams. It seems to me that some of the answers are based on other modules information
Posted by Elise F. | Logan, UT | May 20, 2021
Ted and Alice look like they need to be updated on the test questions.
Posted by Stella S. | Holden, MO | September 8, 2020
Good course, but a little confusing sometimes.
Posted by Hal S. | Nashville, TN | October 24, 2019
I emailed about one question that I didn't think there was a correct answer to.
Posted by Jerry P. | Tucson, AZ | July 29, 2019
Good course
Posted by Sharon K. | Lady Lake, FL | October 19, 2018
Some of the questions were on 2017 costs, but the material had the costs for 2018.
Posted by Deborah Z. | Hicksville, OH | December 30, 2019
It appears you are dooming people to fail when the questions on the test are not in the chapter in each and every test module.
Posted by Britt P. | Boulder, CO | August 16, 2019
Would like to see more examples in this area. A lot to take in and examples really help me retain information better.
Posted by Denise M. | Flint, MI | October 13, 2018
2017 premiums were not listed in the course. 2018 were
Posted by William M. | Winchester, KY | November 16, 2020
This was the first unit I felt that the authors assumed that participants had knowledge not included in the materials. Specifically, I am talking about questions about income and types of investments would be better to lower AGI.
Posted by Dawn F. | Suffolk, VA | October 23, 2019
In reviewing exams it would be helpful to include the calculations used on questions that require it.
Posted by Nicole R. | Akron, OH | May 21, 2019
I believe adding the chart for Alice and Ted would of been helpful when reading the examples. Also Question 14 for Ted and Alice, I couldn't get the any of the answer given. I calculated $4216 per month.
Posted by Timothy M. | La Mirada, CA | May 15, 2019
Some questions on the exam were not covered in the course material.
Posted by Robert F. | Lakeland, MN | October 19, 2018
Test questions were for 2017. Materials referenced 2018 rates.
Posted by Ann R. | Knoxville, IA | December 2, 2018
Please give the incorrect answers so we can study our weak points

Module IV: Marketing Social Security Income Planning Services

Were the stated learning objectives met?
  • 4.5
Were the stated prerequisite requirements appropriate and sufficient?
  • 4.5
Were program materials relevant and did they contribute to the achievement of the learning objectives?
  • 4.5
Was the time allotted to the learning activity adequate?
  • 4.5
Were the audio and video materials effective?
  • 4.1

Participant Reviews

Posted by Barbra S. | Granite Falls, MN | June 16, 2021
Could not keep the whole course open at the end for the exam
Posted by William M. | Winchester, KY | November 17, 2020
I feel more confident of my ability to succeed in establishing a business after completing this module.
Posted by Barbara T. | Bend, OR | November 23, 2019
I'd like to know what questions I missed and what the correct answers are.
Posted by Eduardo A. | Fort Lauderdale, FL | October 8, 2019
I LOVE THE PROGRAM AND MATERIALS!
Posted by Perry M. | Albertville, AL | July 20, 2019
clear concise and enjoyable..
Posted by Frances T. | Amarillo, TX | July 6, 2019
Feedback on questions missed would be very beneficial to the learning process
Posted by Robert H. | Lawton, OK | May 29, 2019
it would be nice to give the correct answer to the questions missed and explanation, as in the chapter tests, for the Module exam. This should be done for after the Module exam is passed.
Posted by Ellen O. | Bedford, TX | May 4, 2019
This is a good module!
Posted by Bernard E. | Colerain, NC | March 13, 2019
I have enjoyed the course so much thus far. I hope I can learn and retain enough of the material to be able to help clients with their social security claiming strategies.
Posted by Pamela F. | North Reading, MA | October 10, 2018
a couple of questions refer to 2017 figures but the material states 2018 figures
Posted by Denise B. | Luling, TX | November 18, 2020
Okay, guys, throughout this education process, the random use of years in the educational materials can slide. However using "a 68 year old man whose FRA is 66 in 2018" does not necessarily let us know what age he was when he retired or when he retired.
Posted by Beth P. | Chattanooga, TN | September 7, 2018
Test questions dealt with 2017 Social Security averages and the material has been updated with 2018 numbers. Still editing errors in the chapters.
Posted by Sharon K. | Lady Lake, FL | October 23, 2018
Once again the material is based on 2018 figures and the questions are based on 2017 figures.
Posted by Deborah S. | Beaumont, CA | May 25, 2021
A little too generic
Posted by Deborah Z. | Hicksville, OH | January 2, 2020
A great deal of the answers to your questions do not make sense and you need to review and change these. Several of them the question is asked which is true, all are true, and the answer includes "none of the above." It should be ALL of the above, not NONE of the above. Other questions in this module go back to Module 1 and Module 2. I thought it was supposed to be testing Module 4 so what's the deal of throwing in questions from the beginning of the course. Looks like a good program to use but your testing is very bad and needs a major overhaul with someone who can actually proof read the questions and answer choices.
Posted by Hal S. | Nashville, TN | October 31, 2019
I think much of the information in this Module isn't as much factual information but rather opinions. I am not saying that I disagree with the information but when studying for my Enrolled Agent certification...tips on marketing wasn't part of the test. It might have been nice to have much of this as part of a Module after getting the certification.
Posted by James S. | Lancaster, PA | September 23, 2018
The course materials show amounts of average benefits in 2018, yet the test ask questions based on 2017.
Posted by George B. | Peabody, MA | March 28, 2021
Marketing is an art not really a science. Practitioners have preferences. The materials were not really invigorating. Actually very boring for an experienced service provider. Lost interest.
Posted by Diane C. | Egg Harbor Township, NJ | December 21, 2019
I had to take final exam four times because site kept deleting my answers. A lot of wasted time.
Posted by Paul P. | Minneapolis, MN | November 17, 2019
Too many NEGATIVE questions: Which of the following is NOT...
Posted by Kathleen C. | Lakeland, FL | November 14, 2018
You need to update the questions to 2018 like the materials are.
Posted by Carolyn C. | New Port Richey, FL | June 27, 2020
Waiting on learning and seeing examples via the software you promote. Also, specific, may need to find another accountant that needs to know how to encourage S Corp owners of how much they should take in wages to maximize or at least create a "livable" social security PIA>
Posted by Jerry P. | Tucson, AZ | August 4, 2019
Good job.
Posted by James S. | Knoxville, TN | December 13, 2019
Marketing is not why we signed up for your course, I don't believe. I was searching for answers to social security questions that I was already getting from existing clients.
Posted by Timothy M. | La Mirada, CA | May 21, 2019
Some questions on the exam were not covered in the book.
Posted by Robert F. | Lakeland, MN | October 25, 2018
More 2017 data referenced in the test, but not the handout.
Posted by Elise F. | Logan, UT | May 25, 2021
Although this is helpful information, it felt weird to take a test on it. Not the normal type of material I expect.
Posted by Bob R. | Rockledge, FL | May 22, 2021
While I understand the importance of providing info on the business side of Social Security planning, this was the least relevant/helpful module.
Posted by Lori L. | Newton Falls, OH | October 21, 2020
The test questions are very confusing due to the double negative. Instead of saying what is not true, ask which statement is false. Also there a many questions that are open to interpretation to the reader. Clear, concise questions are needed.
Posted by Beatriz T. | Donna, TX | June 5, 2019
This course is difficult and maybe the missed questions can be shown for further knowledge or to know where to review some more

Module V: Social Security Software Case Studies

Were the stated learning objectives met?
  • 4.3
Were the stated prerequisite requirements appropriate and sufficient?
  • 4.2
Were program materials relevant and did they contribute to the achievement of the learning objectives?
  • 4.2
Was the time allotted to the learning activity adequate?
  • 4.2
Were the audio and video materials effective?
  • 3.9

Participant Reviews

Posted by Deborah S. | Beaumont, CA | June 11, 2021
Excellent examples
Posted by Bernard M. | Worcester, MA | December 20, 2020
Excellent Review....Cases Need Verification Figures to assist in self correction!!
Posted by Barbara G. | Charlotte Hall, MD | November 2, 2020
THIS IS HARD!
Posted by Brenda E. | Tacoma, WA | September 19, 2020
Case studies have significantly helped to better understand the many strategy options available.
Posted by Reba S. | Jonesboro, AR | July 7, 2020
I really enjoyed getting to do the case studies.
Posted by Denise M. | Sandwich, IL | July 6, 2020
More details and specifics with an ability to verify reports in MMSS would be helpful.
Posted by Shelly W. | Binghamton, NY | March 10, 2020
cases software outcomes didn't match book due to different years. book was done with prior years and thus answer choices were off slightly from reports.
Posted by Natalie G. | Mancos, CO | January 14, 2020
WOW
Posted by Marisela C. | Long Beach, CA | October 1, 2019
Being able to use the software made a big diff to play around with the numbers and made it much clearer that this information is sinking in. Made me realize that I will deff like providing this to my clients.
Posted by Margaret W. | Brandon, MS | June 5, 2019
I don't like jumping from one set of data to the other. I prefer to answer all questions from one case and move to the next case. I certainly don't do 5 tax returns at a time so I don't need to learn how to switch between 5 or more sets of data. I did not pass the first time but I spent at least 3 hrs on the module then spent probably 45 minutes on the retake. I may not pass this time and If I don't I'm not sure I will take it again.
Posted by Adolfo G. | San Antonio, TX | June 22, 2020
I noticed that when I'm taking an exam and I have to log out then afterward log back in, the questions changed or my answers got erased. One time I had to take the exam over 3 different times because my answers were deleted??
Posted by Mary F. | Murray, KY | December 8, 2019
Some questions seemed to have incorrect answers available. The available answers did not make sense with the supporting worksheets.
Posted by John M. | Louisville, KY | January 1, 2019
Enjoyed the course. Will incorporate it in my practice
Posted by John A. | West Boylston, MA | August 12, 2020
very good, although some of the cases were a bit vague and the type was difficult to read too small
Posted by Ellen O. | Bedford, TX | May 24, 2019
This has been the most difficult module yet. It is very challenging. I hope I pass!
Posted by William M. | Winchester, KY | January 1, 2021
I really struggled with this portion of the course. I found it both confusing and difficult.
Posted by Carol W. | Wilmington, DE | November 18, 2020
I was not happy to have to use a particular software program to complete this course (since I already subscribe to another SS analysis program) even if it was free.
Posted by Gregory W. | Renton, WA | September 12, 2020
The materials are really good.
Posted by Michael V. | Glendale, CA | June 29, 2020
I would suggest you quiz each section completely, one at a time, to prevent the student from having to jump around from one report to the other.
Posted by Sanford F. | Columbia, MD | August 7, 2020
Some answers were ambiguous
Posted by Shirley S. | Stanwood, WA | December 24, 2019
Questions and even the examples were very confusing to me. Terminology seems to be confusing.
Posted by Beth S. | Sarasota, FL | November 6, 2019
I have taken this three times now. The questions do not match the material.
Posted by Sharon K. | Lady Lake, FL | May 7, 2019
Checked all the reports over for accuracy more than once, than never coincided with the figures on the exam. Had to choose the closest answer.
Posted by Karyn K. | Lancaster, PA | June 19, 2020
It was challenging to use the maximize program. I don't feel there was enough explaination on how to use it or what I was looking for in the reports
Posted by Nancy H. | Fremont, CA | May 19, 2020
My version of the Maximize Soc Sec software seemed to come up with different amounts than in the questions - in almost all cases. I double checked all my input. Even the number of strategies examined was different in each case.
Posted by Diana D. | Biggar, CA | October 30, 2019
Import would not work. Could not make earnings and dates change in Miller, had to rekey another client to get calculations. Software nice, now if we just knew the exact date of a person's death, we would have it made.
Posted by Evans G. | Saint Paul, MN | October 26, 2019
need more case study examples and much detail step by step case study with soft ware. thanks
Posted by Erin F. | North Port, FL | October 2, 2019
It would be helpful to have check figures while working the scenarios. I spend a lot of time crunching and like to know that I am not wasting time analyzing incorrect data. I also had difficulty trying to export tables to excel (very familiar with excel). Could have ported data with copy/paste while in software - but wanted to see how to use export function. Thank you.
Posted by Jerry P. | Tucson, AZ | August 17, 2019
Good job.
Posted by Lillian G. | Stoughton, MA | June 1, 2019
A deeper analysis of the calculations and variables would have been helpful. This has taken me the longest time through failed test to get certification and I have quite a few. I think there should be a way to ensure that the data inputs are correct and match what is being tested. I have done many years of planning with clients and have a good understanding of most of this material. But the subtle important details are missed in the main material. You have to google to get the in depth materials and found that more helpful and on point. Testing was difficult if inputs are different and interpreting questions (income to me includes all income not just SS)
Posted by Dale K. | Virginia Beach, VA | December 13, 2018
As the owner of an S Corp Thomas Mller is not self-employed but rather is employed by his S Corp. Reasonable Compensation taken as a distribution should never be a strategy as it could potentially lead to an IRS audit. The IRS website has substantial information on this topic.
Posted by Sandra F. | Reading, PA | February 3, 2020
The questions did not seem to coincide well with the printed reports. Maybe a chapter should be added in how to read and analyze the reports. I have spent 6 hours on chapters 2-4 and the exam. All the chapters have taken much longer than the CPE suggests.
Posted by Michelle C. | Point Pleasant Beach, NJ | December 5, 2019
Not having the math work properly (this may be user error) was extremely frustrating.
Posted by Karen H. | Greenfield, IA | August 12, 2020
There is a lot of in-depth material to cover. It is a tough topic, and maybe more quiz questions with explanations for right and wrong answers would be helpful.
Posted by Lisa W. | New Castle, DE | December 20, 2019
The module needs to be adjusted to the correct year so you know if the reports are correct when you run them.
Posted by Perry M. | Albertville, AL | July 22, 2019
very confusing.. need a lot more clarity on how to use software.
Posted by Coleen D. | Morris Plains, NJ | May 6, 2019
this module was more jumbled. the instructions to enter into the software tool were not crystal clear and several questions had close numbers. also i viewed the test without answering any questions an when i came back it was a different version of the test which was of course more work